Sirajgonj district town stands on the bank of the river Jamuna & located at 24-40N
89-20 E. It was established in the seventeenth century. The district was named according to the name of a large hearted land lord Siraj Uddin Chow dhury was duration 1745-1825.
Sirajonj declared as a district on 30th January 1984.
Before the Victory of Turki eastern part of this district was under Bhangabhumi . There was some very much famous person born in this district like
1) Mr. Jadob Chandra Chakrabarti
2) Sayed Ismail Hossain Sirajee.
3) Mowlana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani
4) Abdullah Al Moti Sarfuddin.
5) Pandit Najibur Rahman Shahitta Ratna.
This district consists of 9 upazilas,6 Pourashava.s & 82 Unions. During Magal period sirajgonj was used as Chowki. The sirajgonj Municipality was established in 1876.
The larges bridge Bangabandhu Multipurpose bridge is also situated in Sirajgonj District.
More over on the oldest bridge name Eliot Bridge established on 1883 according to the name of Charls Eliot governor of Bengal. Robindra Kuthibari is also situated in Shazadpur upazila under Sirajgonj District.
Sirajganj At a Glance
Area: 2498km2
Upazila Road: 717.5 km
Union Road: 706.43Km
Village Road: 3079.48Km VA
2103.67Km VB
Population: 2707011
Density: 1084Km2
Literacy: 68%
No. of Upazila: 9
No. of Union: 82
No. of Pourashava: 6
No. of Primary School: 1563
No. of High School: 255
No. of College: 42
Procurment, Sirajganj