Magura District (Khulna Division) with an area of 1048 km2, is bounded by Rajbari district on the north, Jessore and Narail districts on the south, Faridpur district on the east and Jhenaidaha district on the west. Annual average temperature: maximum 37.1 °C, minimum 11.2 °C; annual rainfall 1467 mm. Main rivers are Gorai, Madhumati, Kumar, Nabaganga and Fatki; Ramsagar and Bural Baor are notable.
Magura sub-division was established in 1945 and was turned into a district in 1984. The district consists of 4 upazilas, 1 municipality, 18 wards, 61 mahallas, 36 union parishads, 537 mouzas, and 700 villages
Archaeological heritage and relics: Ghat of Nader Chand, tomb of Pir Mokerram Ali, tomb of Garib Shah, remnants of the Rajbari of Raja Sitaram Roy, Rajbari of Raja Satrujit Roy, fortification of Debal Raja, remnants of the Rajbari of Birat Raja at Sreepur, Mosque at village Gopal (Mughal period), Siddheshwari Math at Athara Khada and Ashram of Nangta Baba (Satdoha Ashram).
Historical events: Indigo uprising of 1859-60, the remnants of Neelkuthi at Hajrapur, Boroi, Amtail Nahati are marks of extensive indigo cultivation. During the War of Liberation the people of Magura encountered the Pak army in about 16 fronts. In these encounters many freedom fighters were killed. The heroic role of Lutfunnahar Helena and her death in the hands of the Razakars are proudly remembered by people.
Marks of War of Liberation Mass grave: Magura PTI compound, WAPDA canal, Binodpur Bazar, Galakata Bridge (Chhaigharia); memorial monument- PTI main gate adjacent to the Magura Bishwa Road.
'Famous Personalities:' Late Poet Kazi Kader Newaz, Cricket Allrounder Shakib Al Hasan, Late Dariapur Pir Saheb, Late Poet Syed Ali Ahsan, Late Poet Farrukh Ahmad, Late Poet Lutfur Rahman, Greatest Muktibahini Leader Akbar Hossain Miah of "Akbar Bahini", Shahid Sirajuddin Hossain (an intellectual journalist killed by Rajakars during the war of Liberation), Birprotik Golam Eyakub Molla, Abu Saleh (ekushey padak and bangla Academy Padak winner journalist and rhymer), Dr. Shirajul Akbar M.P. (Chairman, Bangladesh Red Crescent Society), Maj.Gen(Retd) Majidul Haque (Ex Minister Govt. of the People's Republic of Bangladesh), Dr. S. M. Asraful Momin-Founder "SHIFA-E-ASRAFIA" (Organization of free treatment for poor), Advocate Sree Biren Sikder M.P., Kazi Salimul Hoq (Ex M.P., Ex Chairman, Prime Bank Ltd and UDI-OMAN), Poet & Writer Biren Mukherjee.

Magura At a Glance
Area: 1048km2
Upazila Road: 322.35 km
Union Road: 415.85Km
Village Road: 924.18Km VA
1458.35Km VB
Population: 918,419
Density: 774Km2
Literacy: 44.7%
No. of Upazila: 4
No. of Union: 36
No. of Pourashava: 1
No. of Primary School: 525
No. of High School: 110
No. of College: 15
Procurment, Magura