Bhola is a district in south-western Bangladesh and within the Barisal Division. Bhola was elevated to a district on 1 February 1984. Before that it was a sub division. The sub-division was established under Noakhali district in 1845 and administration centre was at Amania of Daulatkhan. After that the sub-division was included in Barisal district in 1869. The sub-divisional head quarters was shifted from Daulatkhan to Bhola in 1876. Bhola district is bounded by Lakshmipur and Barisal districts to the north, Bay of Bengal to the south, Lakshmipur and Noakhali districts, Meghna (lower) river and Shahbazpur Channel to the east, Patuakhali district and Tentulia river to the west. In 1970, a devastating cyclone and tidal bore splached this area. Many people of the district, especially of Charfasson and Tazumuddin, lost their lives at that time. During the liberation of war 1971,many battle between the freedom fighters and the Pak army occurred here. The people of this district has contribution for liberation of Bangladesh like other areas. The present Bhola district consists of 7 upazilas, 68 union parishads, 409 mouzas, 460 villages, 5 municipalities, 45 wards and 62 mahallas. 7 upazilas are Bhola Sadar Upazila, Burhanuddin Upazila, Char Fasson Upazila, Daulatkhan Upazila, Lalmohan Upazila, Manpura Upazila and Tazumuddin Upazila.
Bhola At a Glance
Area: 1162km2
Upazila Road: 580.51 km
Union Road: 613.25Km
Village Road: 1767.58Km VA
2650.04Km VB
Population: 1776795
Density: 480Km2
Literacy: 35,64
No. of Upazila: 7
No. of Union: 67
No. of Pourashava: 5
No. of Primary School: 941
No. of High School: 272
No. of College: 53
Procurment, Bhola