Joypurhat District is in Rangpur Division & located at 25.10°N 89.10°E. It is bounded by Dinajpur district on the north, Naogoan district on the south, Bogra and Gaibandha districts on the east, Bogra and Naogaon districts and Indian province of West Bengal on the west. Joypurhat was the only subdivision of the erstwhile Bogra district, and since 1984 it has been turned into a district. Santal, Orao, Munda, Mahali, Pahan, Buna, Ho, Mahato, Rajbangshi and Koch are noted tribal of Joypurhat district. This district has a glorious contribution in Anti-British Swadeshi Movement. During the Anti-British Swadeshi Movement there was an abortive bomb attack on a train under the leadership of Comrade Abdul Kader Chowdhury and Mihir Mukherjee, later they were captured and deported to the Andaman. Health care facilities are very good in Joypurhat district. There are one Modern district hospital, one Diabetic hospital, five Upazila health complex, thirteen Union health centre, one Red Crescent health centre, five Private clinic, one Veterinary hospital & five Upazila veterinary care centre. There are a Sugar mill, a Cement factory, Textile mill, Rice mill, Flour mill & also some cottage industries in this district. There is a large deposit of lime stone under this district. The main crops are Paddy, Potato, Jute and Sugarcane. Different types of fruits are also available here. Main rivers are Little Jamuna, Tulsi Ganga and Haraboti. Annual average temperature: maximum 34.6°C, minimum 11.9°C; annual rainfall is 1610 mm.
Joypurhat At a Glance
Area: 965km2
Upazila Road: 349.14 km
Union Road: 211.41Km
Village Road: 639.74Km VA
682.59Km VB
Population: 950441
Density: 904Km2
Literacy: 64%
No. of Upazila: 5
No. of Union: 32
No. of Pourashava: 5
No. of Primary School: 375
No. of High School: 153
No. of College: 40
Procurment, Joypurhat