Dinajpur district city stand on the bank of the Punorvoba river and located at 25º14' - 25º38' North and 88º05' - 88º28' East. Thakurgaon and Panchagarh District are to north of it.Gaibandha and Joypurhat District are to south of it. Nilphamari and Rangpur District are to east of it and the West Bengle of India is to west of it. It consists of Thirteen upazillas, Eight Municipalities and One Hundread & one unions. The English Soldiers had captured this area in 1765.In 1783, it was stablished as a separate Collectorate and administrative work going on. Mr. Marywate was the first Collector. Dinajpur Municipality was established In 1869.The south-west side of the District is adjacent to the Indian Border.
Dinajpur At a Glance
Area: 3438km2
Upazila Road: 1071.16 km
Union Road: 1202.91Km
Village Road: 3372.76Km VA
2088.66Km VB
Population: 2747500 Nos
Density: 800Km2
Literacy: 47%
No. of Upazila: 13
No. of Union: 102
No. of Pourashava: 9
No. of Primary School: 1831
No. of High School: 416
No. of College: 94
Procurment, Dinajpur