About Gaibandha

Gaibandha district stands on the bank of the river Jammna(Brhammaputtra) and is located betwen 250 03' 00"N -25039' 00N,89012'00"E- 890 42'00E". . It consists of 7(Seven) Upazilas, 3(three) Pourasavas (Municipality) and 82(Eighty two) Unions. Bhabanigonj Sub-division was created on 27th August 1858 comprising Sadullapur and Bhabanigonj Police Station under the then Rangpur district. However, Bhabanigonj Sub-divition was eroded by river erosion in 1875, as such that Sub... [more]
Gaibandha At a Glance
Area: 2179km2
Upazila Road: 555.49 km
Union Road: 748.99Km
Village Road: 1847.48Km VA
1922.51Km VB
Population: 2430627(2001)
Density: 1150Km2
Literacy: 54%
No. of Upazila: 7
No. of Union: 82
No. of Pourashava: 3
No. of Primary School: 1257
No. of High School: 353
No. of College: 75
Procurment, Gaibandha